2014 Award Timeline

July, 2014 Criteria published and nominations are open. Please use the online form here

September 20, 2014 – Nominations Close


October 15, 2014 - Award elections are made by FLATE IAC award subcommittee, followed by review and approval by the FLATE Executive Committee.

November 1, 2014 - Award recipients and principal nominators are notified of their selection.

December, 2014
Awards presented during the Manufacturers Association of Florida (MAF) Annual Manufacturers Summit and Global Marketplace


View Previous Award Winners


Award Sponsors


ConMed Linvatec

Mileo & Associates

Knights Armament




Florida High Tech Corridor Council


View Previous Award Winners


FLATE Awards


FLATE Awards

2014 FLATE Awards Nominations are now open.


Thank you for your interest in FLATE’s distinguished Manufacturing Service and Educators Award.


FLATE's Industry Honors & Professional Recognition Program brings recognition to both secondary and postsecondary educators as well as a person for outstanding contributions to promote technology education and career awareness in support of manufacturing.


FLATE Award winners are selected from submitted nominations from around the state. They are judged by an awards committee made up of industry representative of our FLATE Industry Advisory Committee.


2014 FLATE award nomination process

For 2014, we have improved the process to make it easier to nominate deserving colleagues. Here is how the 2014 FLATE award process will work:


  • Brainstorm a couple of deserving nominees
  • Visit the FLATE awards website: http://fl-ate.org/projects/awards/index.html
  • Click on Nomination Form
  • Enter your nominee’s name and contact information as well as your own
  • Hit the submit button (and you are done with part 1)
  • In a couple of days, you and the nominee will get an email from FLATE with an award nominee code and a link to Part II of the nomination process (Note: this part pertains to only nominees)


Instructions for Nominees to Complete Part II of the Online Application (Due by Sep. 30, 2014)


  • Click on Nomination Form
  • Enter your award nominee code, name and name of two references
  • Draft a maximum of 250 word statement outlining importance of manufacturing education
  • Draft 250 word (or less) statement stating how they have impacted manufacturing education and/or engineering technology education and training for students, educators and community at the local/state/national level
  • Click "submit" button

2014 marks the eighth year of the FLATE awards. Since the implementation of the awards program in 2006, FLATE has recognized 14 educators in secondary and post-secondary educational institutions, and seven industry partners. For more information on the FLATE awards, or to nominate an awardee for next year, visit www.fl-ate.org, or contact Dr. Marilyn Barger, executive director of FLATE at barger@fl-ate.org or 813.259.6578.